Reviews

What do our customers think?

Here are just a selection of the reviews from you and also from  trip advisor – where we currently have a 93% ranking.

Our reviews are really important to us, so please share your experiences and help others choose the best place to stay in Lancaster – which we hope you’ll agree is right here at the Wagon & Horses.

Latest Reviews

“Great food and service!”

We’ve been twice recently and found the food to be great on both occasions. The owners and staff are really friendly and good all round service! Will be back!

“Highly recommended both for food and drink and for b&b”

This is one of the best: clean and comfortable with very friendly and helpful staff. The room we stayed in was small and it was a bit difficult to get around the bed but this is a small detail compared with the many good points. The light gold and brown decor is pleasant and the lighting is sensibly configured. The room has been well laid out to make the most of the space. It is obvious that some thought has gone into the planning of this place. The kettle fits nicely under the bathroom basin, which isn’t always the case. The shower is simple and works well. There is good heating in the room. The bed and pillows are very comfortable. The TV and wi-fi work well. Several extras are provided: tissues, bottles of water, little packets of biscuits and there is a good supply of tea, coffee and little milks. Corridor lighting is also sensible with sensor lights coming on as and when needed. The breakfast is well cooked and nicely served. Possibly some fruit would be a nice addition but there is juice, a reasonable choice of cooked food and creamy yogurts. We ate in the restaurant two evenings. The tomato and red pepper soup was very tasty, the pies contain tender lamb or chicken and the dessert was wonderful. We had the South African Malva and we would describe this as posh comfort food. It was served with perfect custard with no hint of a skin. We were glad that we had chosen the smaller size of pie so that we had room for a dessert. The locally brewed beer was the smoothest we have come across. All staff were so friendly and helpful. We are sorry we didn’t know that Mary would not be in on our last day but we would like to thank her for looking after us at breakfast and keeping our rooms clean. In her place on our last day was a delightful young Spanish lady and we enjoyed a chat with her, too. In the restaurant in the evenings we were well looked after by two ladies and a young man. We hope we can find an opportunity to return to this place but meanwhile we recommend it for food and drink and also for b&b.

  • Visited November 2016

 

“Great pub, great rooms. Great value”

Stayed at the Wagon and Horses for one night. Very impressed.
We booked in and were taken to our room, although quite a small room it was immaculate and decorated to a high standard, with a lovely bathroom.
We had a drink and gorgeous nibbles by the cosy log fire in the bar before we went out. When we returned there was a live band which was great. The staff, particularly the Landlady were all very friendly and efficient. We had a good nights sleep and in the morning an exceptional cooked English breakfast. Better than many large corporate hotels I have stayed in. Many thanks. Will definitely return.

  • Visited November 2016

 

“Lovely pub”

The Wagon and Horses is a really nice, cosy pub that has been refurbished recently and the beers are nice.

Visited November 2016

 

“Best Sunday roast in Lancaster ”

Reviewed 12 October 2016  via mobile

Three out of four of us ate here all having the Roast Lamb. It was first class, the lamb was perfectly cooked with proper pan gravy, huge Yorkshire pudding, spot on roast potatoes, cauliflower cheese, medley of greens & glazed carrots. Followed by a South African Malva pudding to share; delicious! Absolutely fantastic lunch, the staff are very attentive, extensive reasonably priced wine list. Well done everyone! See you soon

“A gem of a decent pub/restaurant.”
May 2015

Came here for lunch and was our first visit to this beautiful pub. Walked in to a warm friendly welcome. A very modern, clean fresh pub and owned by Robinson’s a shock to us both as it feels like a privately owned pub. The owners take great pride in the pub and that show’s which is fabulous. The menu is vast and very reasonable. There is also a specials menu again good choices and again good value. I had the Scallops which were divine and cooked to perfection, then I went for the rib-eye steak again cooked to perfection, homemade chips and onion rings. Then to finish a lemon panacotta (although it was a posset not a pannacotta) it was beautiful and finished the meal off nicely. My Sister went for the Tuna with thai ice cream and wow what a dish again tuna cooked to perfection and the ice cream was a very clever idea worked very well, my Sister opted for the Black Bream again cooked to perfection and delivered in the taste, then chocolate fondant which was ever ever so slightly over by seconds but was delicious. Then washed down by two bottles of rioja wine. An absolutely fantastic establishment run by a lovely Family with a very good chef who clearly takes pride in not only fresh, homemade food but in presentation too as you eat with yours eyes.
Cannot wait to come again.
May I and my Sister say a massive thank you to all staff for a fabulous experience.

“Great”
April 2015

Been here for drinks many times and recently went to eat. I have to say in regard to previous comments I’ve always found the landlord and landlady to be very friendly and welcoming. Visited on a Monday night around 8:30, without booking, but this was no problem. Food was great, service excellent with minimum waiting times. Would definitely return.

“Ideal Location”
April 2015

We have visited this pub 2 years running now at Easter. Our latest experience was for a friends birthday.

This is a lovely pub with very nice rooms. The rooms aren’t large but are very clean and well equipped.

We stayed 2 nights and eat in the bar on both evenings. Both occasions the food was lovely and the service very good. They did run out of quite a few things on the Sunday but bearing in mind it was Easter Sunday they had been very busy all day and this was in the evening.

The atmosphere in the bar is very good, and the music exactly to our taste, not too loud and not too quiet, just perfect.

All the staff were very pleasant, particularly the lady at breakfast with a good sense of humour, trust me she needed it at times with our party. The owners are also always available and very friendly.

The wine is also very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Go for a room overlooking the river

“Excellent service”
29 March 2015

Stayed here before starting the second half of Dales Way. The staff were excellent, very helpful, offered to make us sandwiches and arrange early breakfast when they knew we were walking. The room was lovely but could do with a new mattress. We stayed in the bar far later than planned due to good atmosphere with live music. Would certainly come back if in the area.

“Wonderful.”
13 March 2015

Popped in for a quick drink on a cold winter’s evening. Ended up staying for a meal. Lovely and warm. Really comfortable and immaculately clean. Great, friendly service. Our meals were delicious too. I just about managed to resist licking my plate clean!

Warm welcome”
February 2015

Spent 2 nights there last week, couldn’t have asked for friendlier staff. We had room 3 (double) which is on the front , overlooking the river and has a dual aspect, with a large window sill , handy for putting our books etc. on. As others have stated rooms are small but perfectly formed, bed comfy, shower good . Great breakfast selection, cooked to order. We had dinner both evenings and enjoyed all our meals plus the house Merlot, all very reasonably priced. Great log burner in bar/restaurant and a small beer garden at rear. Walking distance to Castle etc, overall a very enjoyable break.

“(After!) Lunch Pit Stop! Wonderful!”

“Thank you for making our day”
February 2015

We called in here on our way to take Bertie, my Wheaten Terrier, to the beach in Heysam. Truth is we were starving and not too hopeful as it was past ‘lunchtime’. Neither were we sure of finding somewhere that accepted dogs too…very important! The place was so welcoming with log burners lit and a very relaxed, friendly vibe…even Bertie was made super welcome. Dad ordered the drinks and asked for food …the kitchen had closed…oh no! No chef! …No problem! This lovely, kind Landlady offered to ‘knock us something up’…we jumped at the chance as hunger was severely biting! In truth not expecting much, we were delighted when we were presented with a fab chunky beef sandwich on gloriously fresh bread with a side salad to boot! How kind was that!!! This place is one in a million and we can’t wait to go back…great atmosphere, lovely comfortable deco in a spot that oozes history. Friendly locals and a really pleasant spot outside at the back where if you are a sinner like me is quite important for a cigarette with your pint. My perfect pub! A great place to go and hang out after shopping in Lancaster, a night out with pals or just a pit stop (albeit rather late for lunch!)! I would doubtlessly recommend this as a place to stay for visiting friends & family…and I wouldn’t let them stay anywhere! We’ll definitely be back for a pint and something to eat (in time next time!) with Bertie Bear on our travels. Thank you so much Ms. Landlady (sorry I don’t have a name)…you wonderful person you….for making our day with a little thoughtfulness!!

“Like visiting Friends”
February 2015, travelled on business

From start to finish this was an enjoyable stay, greeted on arrival by a enthusiastic team eager to help and make sure I was comfortable. The meal was first class, breakfast was another great experience.

“Lovely food, excellent service”
29 January 2015

I’ve lived in Lancaster for 18yrs and can’t believe I haven’t had food here before. My family went there at New year’s Eve to see the band and the food looked excellent then. I rang to book and as there was a wine offer on, I asked if I could bring home what wasn’t drunk as my son was driving so he had coke. On arrival we were met by a member of staff who obviously remembered me from the phone call, table was reserved and even had the wine glasses on. We had a starter and main. The service was excellent, the staff were very friendly and made you feel welcome plus the food was piping hot. We will return.

“Always fantastic!”
24 January 2015

We regularly stop at the Wagon and Horses and we are never ever disappointed. The food and service are always top notch. The staff are friendly, warm and inviting, nothing is too much trouble for them. The food is some of the best in Lancaster and what’s more I think it’s impossible to have a bad experience at this establishment. Cannot recommend highly enough.

“Winter in Lancaster in a wonderfully warm setting Wagon & Horses”
14 January 2015

I visited the Wagon & Horses for a week while settling my daughter in for a study abroad. I could not have been more pleased with my stay. The room was clean, cozy and comfortable with a modern, updated bath. Paul, Carol and their staff could not have been more welcoming and accommodating. You can tell that they love what they do and try their best to make sure your stay is memorable. Their staff is friendly, quick to serve and make you feel like family. Coming down for breakfast in the morning made for a good start to every day. Food was delicious, not typical pub food. I would highly recommend Wagon & Horses, it’s like staying with an old friend :)

First time back here for many years. Fantastic Food! – Pete

Excellent Service – the Whitehouse sisters are a dream to be served by – Lynne

Absolutely phenomenal service from the Whitehouse sisters! – Susannah

Ten Stars! Lovely and breathtaking evening. I love Katy Whitehouse! Thank you xx – Holly Johnstone

Excellent Food and service. We will come back :)x – Peter

Well done, many thanks :) – Chris

Wonderful food and atmosphere again! Well done! Merry Christmas – R. Wilson

Food was fantastic and never fails to disappoint. Thank you. – Katrina

We love the Wagon! Lovely food, fantastic service as always. See you again soon. – Jen

Beautiful! Brilliant! – Susie

Excellent food as always you continue to provide something new every time we come. Thank you. – Tracy

Fantastic food, lovely staff! We will be back all the way from Hampshire – Peter

The chocolate fondant was the best thing ever…and the butternut squash tart was amazing even Masterchef worthy. – Emma

Very good food – presentation excellent – service was excellent. We will return. Cheers – Daniel

Superb food. great atmosphere, clean, modern, cosy – Lucy

Great vegetarian selection must come again to try the others. – Marie

Excellent service and food. Thank you – Fiona

Brilliant – Tracey

Lovely accommodation

Booked 3 nights, so pleased we did! Fab pub with lovely staff, we ordered sandwiches on one night presented so well, all meals reasonably priced and plenty of it.At breakfast we were spoilt for choice and the staff very obliging and pleasant.We had a small room but very light,quiet and with everything we needed. 5min walk to town so handy for everything .Will definitely stay again

Stayed May 2014

Lovely hotel and close to town

Reviewed 1 week ago Stayed for two nights with partner and friends . Smart hotel . Staff and manager helpful and friendly . 5 min walk to town . Planning to go back next year. You won’t be disappointed if you stay here .

Stayed April 2014

Great pub and accommodation

We stayed for two nights over Easter with friends what a fab time.All the staff were lovely. The rooms although small were very clean and the bed comfortable. Nice modern bathrooms.The pub itself is lovely very busy and lively with a good atmosphere. The food is exceptional, a good choice of menu and reasonably priced,without doubt a very talented chef. It was also nice to find wines at reasonable prices.

Stayed April 2014

Good location,easy to find and an ideal base to visit around the surrounding areas.

One not to be missed.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends

 Recommended Place To Stay

An excellent place to stay in a quiet but convenient location by the river just a short walk into town. Nice rooms with comfortable beds . Good breakfast with plenty of choices . Nice pub too, had a good evening meal

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends

 A very welcoming inn

Stayed overnight at the Wagon & Horses this March. The food was very good as was the selection of real ales and wine. The bedroom was of a good size and clean and tidy and well presented. The bar and restaurant area was up-to-date but very comfortable with real fires, very welcome on a cold wet day. In particular though was the welcome and hospitality we received from the landlord and landlady and all their staff.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple

Lovely pleasant stay

Visiting family in area found this hotel with great reviews so thought should stay there and it was all it said it would be, friendly staff, comfy beds,breakfast cooked to order lovely!! had a evening meal there all 4 enjoyed theirs, and only 5 mins from the centre, would recommend staying there again

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family

 Cracking menu topped with attentive service

Well, I live very near to this fabulous & well run pub dining establishment; I had just neglected to go, thinking its “just a pub”. It is far more than that. The menu is very surprising, having good regular faves such as liver & onions (they even ask how you want your liver cooking! As ‘pink liver’ lover, I thought this was great!) as well as offering some more complex & unusual dishes.

Service & beer choice excellent, this place should be rammed full every night!

Reviewed 15 May 2013

Spotless and welcoming accommodation and food to die for

We stayed here as a couple over the weekend and what a lovely place. The staff were courteous and welcoming, the room if a little bijou was spotless, as was the rest of the property. The power shower was very welcome as was the comfortable bed and spotless amenities.

We decided to stay for dinner and what can I say, I had Goats cheese tartlet followed by Trio or pork and my partner had mussels followed by rump steak. This was some of the best food I have tasted in a long time, the mussels were to die for. The breakfast in the morning, was great too, only let down by there being no sausage available. Would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend either to eat or to stay and eat. Well done to the hosts and their staff…perfect

Reviewed 26 January 2014

One of my favourite venues in Lancaster

The Wagon & Horses is located on St. George’s Quay, which is slightly out of the way of the main Lancaster circuit, but this should not discourage you from visiting.This pub has been well decorated and looks very homely, warm and inviting all year round. I have been several times for the food, which is always served in fantastic large portions and the quality has never let us down. The bar has a great selection of drinks, lagers and ale on draught, bottles, spirits etc.

The service is possibly the best in town. The staff are always incredibly friendly, willing to engage in conversation and banter; ready to go the extra mile and actually provide a real table-waiting service; the landlord and landlady are also friendly and engaging, taking time to speak to the customers and have a conversation, willing to listen to feedback without becoming defensive, and again happy to go that extra mile.

Reviewed 20 December 2013

Cannot fault it! Absolutely brilliant!

Seeing the amazing reviews on this site for The Wagon and Horses, me and a group of my friends got curious and reckoned we should give it a go. I have to say, the whole thing was tremendous! The pub itself is cosy, warm and welcoming with staff you could describe in the same manner. The bar is very extensive and they have a great selection of ales which we were incredibly happy about! The food was out of this world and for such a great price as well, we could hardly believe it. I literally cannot think of any fault with this restaurant, you have to give it a go yourself! Will most certainly be returning!
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Great food and great staff

Visited here a few weeks ago just for a drink while visiting Lancaster and was very impressed with the decor and feel of the place. Very friendly atmosphere. My husband ordered a real ale, dizzy blonde. He was very impressed with it. We got chatting to the friendly guy behind the bar and asked about the food. He gave us a menu to take with us. Well, after reading it we decided we had to come back and try it. We did this Saturday. I had the rustic chicken pie and my husband Gary had the beef trinchado. Both were delicious! Gary tried the Tom and Berry beer this time and if I hadn’t dragged him away he would easily have sat there all day. We enquired about booking a room in January when we visit again and Liam was very helpful. Will definitely return many times in the future.
Gary and Ali
Reviewed 3 November 2013

 

Wagon and Horses
© Copyright Wagon and Horses 2017